Things I learned: Week 4-5

Hi guys! I’ve almost forgotten about blogging. I’ll definitely try to blog more, but I tend to get writer’s block a lot.

So I actually don’t have a lot of things that I learned in the last two weeks. My mentor has gone missing. I haven’t been able to get in contact with him since last Monday. :( I don’t know where he’s gone, but it’s a bit distressful.

I think I’ve learned that I do best when I have a safe place to ask questions. Since Dereckson was the one who understood my project the most, it was easiest to ask him for opinions. I have been asking questions on #mediawiki, but it’s not quite the same.

I’ve hit a bit of a snag with my project in the last week. It was really hard trying to do my project on my own. I had a lot of environment problems so I had to reinstall a clean copy of mediawiki (which I’ve already done twice). I’m hoping my environment doesn’t die anymore because it really sets me back a few days. My problems seem to be unique to me, which is the worst possible feeling.

In terms of my project, I can still get my stuff done before I need to go into in-depth discussion with Dereckson (I hope he comes back soon). I’ve gotten my project to successfully clone and switch branches and now I’m working on getting the file open and read. It’s coming along well. I’m trying not to let the fact that I’m behind on my timeline get to me. MUST STAY MOTIVATED!

EDIT: My mentor is alive! Huzzah!

Leave a Reply

