I GOT IN!!!

I’m almost shaking trying to write up this post. But I can now say that I’m officially an intern for Wikimedia!! I debated on whether to make this text super obnoxious with confetti text and flashing colors because that’s how I feel right now, but decided to spare the eyes of whoever’s reading this.

I haven’t been updating the last few days because after I saw that it was time for the mentors to get together and discuss the candidates, I was just so nervous. All I could think about was when this day would come and whether I would be accepted or not. Granted, I had already resolved that I would continue to work on FOSS and Mediawiki, but it’s nice to be in a program that has mentors and a structure to it, and I definitely need that. Plus, it’s nice to have some cash to pay off my student loans! Cannot lie about that.

The internship doesn’t officially start till January 2, but I’m gonna try to get a leg up learning PHP. As you can tell from my last post, PHP just looks weird to me so maybe I should write some small programs to get familiar with it.

Ah, I’m so excited! I don’t even know what else to write. This job hunting journey has been so stressful and depressing that the thought of spending time doing something meaningful is just so… ahhhh, overwhelming! I’m no longer dreading the question “So, what do you do?” and can answer “How was work?”. The best part is just getting my foot in the door. I can finally start my journey as a developer and I just can’t be happier!

OH! I want to congratulate all the other lovely ladies who’ve made it through! I’m hoping that I’ll get to meet some or all of you at one point!

One thought on “I GOT IN!!!

  1. “I debated on whether to make this text super obnoxious with confetti text and flashing colors because that’s how I feel right now, but decided to spare the eyes of whoever’s reading this.”

    GIRL, YOU GOT IT! ERGO, YOU DESERVE ALL THE SPARKLE TEXT AND CONFETTI IN THE WORLD!

    But on a more serious note, again, congratulations! I know precisely how much this means to you, and what an internship! So happy for you, so, so, so happy! :) <3

Leave a Reply

